Review: Where She Went

Where She Went
Where She Went by Gayle Forman
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

“I have to make good on my promise. To let her go. To really let her go. To let us both go.”

The beginning of this one was super rough for me. It was just a bunch of Adam popping pills and being mopey (i guess?). No thank you! Plus, it had been so long since I had read If I Stay and I was kind of avoiding my paperback (I let someone borrow it and they dropped it in a sink????? and now its all crinkly). I was just wading through a bunch of mopey, depressing stuff and was kind worried it would become a story about a drug addict or something because he kept popping pills every 2-3 pages it seemed.

So last night I sat myself down and read this one as I was in a reading-late-at-night mode and it actually got pretty good. If I wouldn’t have been so tired, I would have stayed up an extra hour to finish this one. Once Mia came into the picture, the book became ten times more interesting. No longer was it a super depressing book but one exploring a relationship. Previous parts of their relationship are explored alongside new memories made in the book’s present, at at first, these felt a little weird but as the book went on, they fit in. You get to experience the past relationship that you know from If I Stay and get a little refresher before diving back into the present. There are also flashbacks that are not so much about Mia and Adam’s relationship, but the aftermath. Throughout the book, the flashbacks serve to give the reader a look into Adam’s head, why his is feeling what he is feeling, and what has led up to the events of the book now.

They actually helped me as I started this book years after I read If I Stay. All I really knew was that (spoilers for If I Stay) (view spoiler) and that was it. When I started this book, I was so lost.

(FROM HERE ON OUT, THERE ARE GENERAL SPOILERS AND POSSIBLY MAJOR ONES FOR THE BOOK.)

All of the sudden, Adam was popping pills and not with Mia anymore. I didn’t remember the promise Adam made and I felt like I had missed something super major. Through the flashbacks, I go to remember the promise and learn that Mia just kind of left Adam. I figured out what happened and what led up to the current events and they filled the major gap I thought I had missed.

At first, I struggled with this book. I knew nothing and Adam seemed completely different. It was a different POV and a jump to the future that too time getting to. But then the flashbacks came into play and so did Mia. Once it stopped being all depressing and down all the time and the character development, etc. started to happen, I really started to get hooked. I began to root for Adam and Mia to work things out because they had always seemed so great together. Adam and Brea (I think that’s her name, I’m not 100% sure) weren’t a ship I was ever really on board with. She just didn’t seem right for Adam. All she was there for was advice or whatever and such. Sure they connected on the beach that one time, but it seemed like nothing else in their relationship was even close to that. Mia and Adam had that history of a previous relationship that I guess kind of set the sparks or whatever off when they met again. I could just tell that their relationship was so much more real.

I was scared after the fight on the bridge that Adam and Mia would not get together but everything worked itself out the way I wanted it to. I couldn’t have asked for a better ending (except for another book on their lives after!).

View all my reviews

