Review: Seven Days of You

Seven Days of You
Seven Days of You by Cecilia Vinesse
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

*I received a review copy from the NOVL in exchange for an honest review.*

I figure I should probably get a review out before I forget everything, so here goes. . .

This book took me a little while to get through. I started it back before it came out in March and got into it a decent amount but then I stopped. I don’t know if it was because of a slump or because I just didn’t feel like reading the book at that time, but I just stopped and didn’t pick it up again fully until April. And even then, it took me almost a month to finish it because major finals and studying was happening and life got crazy. Finals are FINALly (haha help that joke was super bad) over, at least in terms of my major classes and that means I have some time to read before my other finals. So Wednesday night, I hunkered down and finished this book.

Let me say first, that this wasn’t a bad book. Life just got in the way. If I sat myself down and shut everything out, I could speed through this book. Anywho, this book was actually pretty good, but not without a few things that bugged me.

This book is about a 17 year old girl, Sophia Wachowski, who is moving from Tokyo back to New Jersey. Her parents are divorced and her dad is remarried. Her mom is a professor whose research grant/time has run out and that is why they are moving. Sophia really doesn’t want to leave her good friends Mika and David (who she has a crush on) or the city she has grown to know and love.

On one of the first few days of her countdown (she keeps it on a watch her dad gave her), Mika and David inform her that one of their other friends, Jamie, is coming back from boarding school in America. Sophia struggles with this as she and Jamie had a fallout before he left in which he basically called her needy in a text he accidentally sent to her. The next two or three days is really just Sophia hanging out with her friends and doing things at home. The rest of the days is where this book really picks up.

BEWARE THE REST OF THIS REVIEW CONTAINS BOTH GENERAL AND SPECIFIC SPOILERS FOR THE REST OF THE REVIEW.

(view spoiler)

– David was terrible. He was a womanizer and a complete jerk. I shipped him and Sophia at the beginning but when Jamie came into the picture and we started to see the real David, I ditched that.

– The David and Mika thing shocked me. I probably should have seen it coming but oh well.

– The karaoke night? Nah.

– David and Sophia was yeck. The bathroom scene made me upset. Sophia was totally okay with it (she was drunk as well, more on that one later) despite all David had donw, with Mika and Caroline and just the general fact that he was a jerk.

– Jamie’s reaction to that scene. He just kinda sees it and then walks away in anger without maybe idk stepping in or something? Idk maybe it was rational.

– Sophia going against herself. She does this when she gets drunk and begins to lie to her mom all the time. She’s I guess what you would call a “goody two shoes” and against these things until the occur in the book. She just randomly decides to give up not drinking during Mika’s party and later when she is either out with Jamie, or drunk, to lie to her mom and say she was at Mika’s.

– The cheesy bits. While I loved Sophia and Jamie together, the cheesy bits of their relationship were a different story. I mean, they said “I love you” after like two days together and made it seem like they were soulmates, again only after a few days.

(hide spoiler)]

Anyway, despite all that, I really enjoyed this one. Even though I was interested in it from when I saw it, if I had not received a copy, I don’t know if I would have gotten this one. But I’m so glad I did. It was a wonderful and cute story that I’m so glad I got to read.

View all my reviews

