Freeks Blog Tour (Review!)

freeks-cover

Title: Freeks

Author: Amanda Hocking

Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin

Release Date: January 3, 2017

Page Count: 400 pages

Rating: Undecided

 *I received an eARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review and this has in no way affected my review.*

Review:

I was approached to participate in this blog tour because I got an ARC of another of Amanda’s books through NetGalley a while back. I was kinda freaking out because a major publisher had emailed me and asked me to participate in a blog tour so I signed up for this tour for that and also because I thought why not broaden my horizons of the books I read?

 

The beginning of this one was really rough because it starts with a sort of road trip montage. Mara is part of a traveling circus of gifted performers along with her mother and her mom’s boyfriend. The book starts out with an ominous prologue with a monster chasing someone, setting up the overall problem in the book. This overall problem though isn’t even dealt with ‘til after the 10% mark and a bunch of travelling circus day-to-day actions. Up to the 10% mark, it’s road trip and party with strangers time. The party was where I actually started to get into the book and not glance and skip around the book.

 

However, once you get to about the 10% mark, it’s back to circus stuff and that really didn’t interest me and I just couldn’t connect or get a real good sense of the characters in these parts.

That’s what I think problem #1 was for me. Problem #2 was the genre. Supernatural type books are a hit-or-miss genre for me. Sometimes they are super amazing and I love them (Clockwork Angel series, etc.) or they are like this one and just don’t reel me in. After 10%, there’s a lot of talk about those who work in the circus, what they do, and their lives. I just never really got into any of the characters so these parts were extremely rough for me. Problem #3 was the pacing. For me it just felt really slow and the scenes with actions just didn’t seem all that great.

 

But don’t let that deter you. This is a different book that feels like Scream Queens season 2 meets a traveling circus, I know some people love supernatural books and I think if you are really into that genre, this might be for you.


Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

