Review: Talia: And The Capture Of Wrath

Talia: And The Capture Of Wrath
Talia: And The Capture Of Wrath by C.J. Quinn

My rating: 0 of 5 stars

*I graciously received an audiobook copy from the author and a paperback from the publisher. This has in no way affected my review.*

**I have chosen not to star this review due to conflict on how to do so.

A while back, I received an email from a publicity company I had previously worked with asking me if I was interested in receiving a copy of this book. It was marketed for fans of Harry Potter and the Chronicles of Narnia and it didn’t sound all that bad. So I accepted and began a journey with this book.

The summary of this one makes it sound like a super exciting adventure to save Earth and actually kind of draws me in. But reading this book was less exciting. I started the audiobook in the midst of me writing a bunch of school papers and had it playing it the background while I worked. The first little while was fine and although I wasn’t too interested, I kept going because I wanted to give it a chance. It begins with just kind of an everyday thing revolving around four brothers who lost their mom and their scientist dad. Around 12%, I kind of gave up because it totally changed. Right around this point it begins a strong “save the environment” vibe. The Queen/mom starts talking about how people went from fires to furnaces, etc. and how it’s harming Earth. Now, I do care about the Earth and understand that we need to clean up our act to help preserve it but this was a little too much for me.

From the beginning, I never really had a strong connection or cared for any of the characters. I think that’s another thing that contributed to my “meh” feeling about this book. I think part of it is that the characters are much younger than I am and compared to what I normally read in the YA/NA genre. It’s hard to get into the character’s shoes when they are way smaller than yours. Being 7 (I think that’s how old they are in this book, I never really got a clear understanding) feels like such a long time ago and it’s hard to relate to characters when you can hardly remember what it feels like to be that age. The book also tends to focus more overall on the “saving the Earth” thing than anything else like character development and building up a reader/character connection. The connection provided for the reader to the world is much more strong but I just wasn’t into the world so it didn’t really connect for me.

I think it all boiled down to my lost connection to the Middle Grade genre. My disconnect left me unable to connect to the characters or get involved in the plot/world. I haven’t read MG in a while and I guess that that’s probably why: I just don’t connect to it anymore.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

