Review: The Blind Assassin

The Blind Assassin
The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood
My rating: 1 of 5 stars

DNF.

I was given a list of requirements for a class for books we should read during the year and this one fit three of them and seemed interesting. Granted, I had just finished CoM when I was choosing this one and kind of expected it to have a little more assassin in it.

This one involved a story about Iris? idk what her name was, I didn’t really care and her chapters were really random and vague. After the deaths of her sister and husband, her chapters basically revolved around really boring everyday tasks that she did and honestly I couldn’t have cared less. The other story was about two forbidden lovers and the man would tell the woman some weird sci-fi story when they met up in secret. That was kind of interesting but soon got really boring. I had expected this second story to be more interesting anyway but it soon got old. Plus, unlike Iris’ story, this one had no quotation marks to separate speech and switched from Iris’ first person to some weird third person.

All those things together made this book really terrible and unreadable.

View all my reviews

