Review: Never Let Me Go

Never Let Me Go
Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro
My rating: 1 of 5 stars

No stars for this one but 1 because there is no 0-star option that counts towards the Goodreads stars.

It’s hard to say if this book was worse than the notorious Ceremony (It left me in a slump that I still haven’t gotten out of.) because I chose to audiobook this one which I believe saved me from an even deeper slump. I was asked to read this for school and at first, I knew nothing about it. It just seemed like a book about kids going to school. But, as I looked more into this one I found out that (view spoiler). Yeah, I’m not into that kind of stuff. Thanks though.

Anyway, back to my review. I think my main issue was with narrator. Her weird conversational narration style, her useless and random stories, and just her in general. Her stories are so random and go on for 10+ pages. I don’t want to hear about how she lost a tape or how she felt like she NEEDED to have sex just ’cause everyone else was doing it. And then she proceeded to talk about sex for 100 pages+ and how the teachers taught them how to have sex via a skeleton. Then Kathy proceeds to tell us what positions she has sex in and how she put her hand down her dead friend’s ex-boyfriends underwear and makes him hard and “happy to see her”. EW, EW, EW!!!! I DON”T CARE KATHY JUST STOP!!!!!!

Nothing about this book was good. It was terrible and explicit. NO THANKS.

View all my reviews

