Review: Cinder

Cinder
Cinder by Marissa Meyer
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

4.5 because it was so slow to start.

So I’m back from vacation (insert sad face emoji here) and ready (?) to write a review.

As I said before and if you’ve been following my updates on this one, you’ll know that the start to the book was SO S L O W. Maybe my expectations were too high b/c all the hype or maybe it’s just part of my never-ending reading funk. So after struggling to 30% or whatever it was, I was told to try an audiobook by a friend and see if that made a difference. And it did. The narrator for the audiobook the best I’ve ever heard. She would change voices with different characters, making it easy to tell who was talking and when someone else had started speaking. On top of that, she added emotion to the words and became sarcastic when characters used sarcasm. That made the audiobook actually fun to listen to and helped me ease into the book. Around the 60%/70% mark, I had to go on vacation and wasn’t really able to bring the audiobook with me but after using the audiobook for a short while, I was able to breeze through reading the rest of the novel and enjoy it.

I loved Kinder and I think that also helped me push through because I wanted them to be together so bad! Adri was just an awful person and so was Levana. Well, Levana is more than just awful. She’s bitter, power-hungry, and just down right terrible. Peony was pretty nice too until (view spoiler).

Overall, I thought it was a pretty good story with a super slow beginning that got better after the 50% mark or so. I did enjoy it after that and will definitely continue on with this series!

View all my reviews

