Review: Finding Perfect

Finding Perfect
Finding Perfect by Kendra C. Highley
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

*I received this review copy from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.*

“Promise me, though. Promise you’ll start paying attention to how amazing you are.”

Finding Perfect was just okay. I had heard great things from one of my GR friends and after looking into the book, I decided to request it on NetGalley. I really enjoyed the beginning and if the rest of the novel had been just like it, I would have probably rated this one a lot higher.

This book is about Paige, a perfectionist with a tough mom and neurologist dad who is struggling in calculus and Ben Franklin (Yep, apparently he’s related.) who lives with his mother in the run-down part of town and who knows a lot about math.

Right off the bat, we are given the cliche of rich-kid-doesn’t-know-poor-kid and the uses-friend-of-cute-person-to-get-close cliche. That didn’t really bother me all that much because I loved the writing and the story and where it was going.

Paige is stressed, super-stressed to be exact because her parents and most of the people around her expect her to live up to her nickname “Perfect Paige”. And now, on top of all that, she just got a D on her calculus test. So she runs out into the hallway, trips, and meets Ben Franklin. He offers to tutor her in exchange for her introducing him to her to her hot best friend. Stuff happens and then Ben realizes that he doesn’t love the hot best friend Zoey, but instead loves Paige. And Paige now loves him too.

After that is probably where the downhill slope of the book started and it basically was like this the rest of the book:

description

It was kind of a cutesy romance and basically your average contemporary.

Now, off the semi-positive side. There were lots of things that bugged me in this book so I thought I’d make a list (I like lists, k?)

1.) The dumbest metaphors, comparisons, and thoughts you may have ever seen:
“Huh, had anyone ever accidentally run off the highway after catching sight of her? Because that was totally plausible in his opinion.”

Teen boy: *sees girl*
Teen boy: *drives off highway*

Yep. Totally plausible.

“…grinning like a jerk”
Do jerks grin some specific way I’ve never heard about?

2.) Teenage boy thoughts or just dumb?:

“Zoey Miller touched his arm!”
Oh wow. What an amazing event?

– Something about flushing hot enough to melt a milkshake. Yeah, that’s plausible too.

3.) “Daddy”:
Throughout the book, Paige’s father is always referred to “Daddy” when it is her third person POV. That is what she calls her father in conversation and thought but it should not be used unless it was first person. It’s just awkward and stupid.

4.) And the classic underage teens having, getting close to, or basically having sex:

Wishing he could kiss every inch of exposed skin… and some that wasn’t exposed too.

Ooh yay. The beginning of taking off stars.

– Stradding while kissing, groaning and sighing when being kissed, ear nibbling

If there’s one thing I hate, it’s authors making their teen characters have sex or get close to. There’s no need and I’m tired of seeing it everywhere I turn.

description

View all my reviews

