Review: Summer Days & Summer Nights: Twelve Love Stories

Summer Days & Summer Nights: Twelve Love Stories
Summer Days & Summer Nights: Twelve Love Stories by Stephanie Perkins
My rating: 0 of 5 stars

*I received an ARC from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review and this has in no way affected my review.*

Cassie Clare and Jennifer E. Smith were the only two authors I was really hoping their stories would be good in this collection.

Cassie’s Story

Cassie’s story was disappointing. I’ve read almost every one of her books and enjoyed all of them. Her short story just didn’t even feel like her or her writing style. It was something about some dark circus or something like that and that just didn’t feel like something Cassie would write. I tried to get through what I could but I just didn’t like the story and as I said before, it didn’t feel like as Cassie Clare story.

Jennifer’s Story

Jennifer’s story is what made the entire collection for me! It actually caught my attention form the start and only let go for a few pages. The story was so sweet and I loved the relationship between Griffin and the MC (can’t remember her name atm). I had already figured out that (view spoiler) but I really loved that that was a part of the story. It made Griffin so much sweeter as a character in how he made his decisions/created relationships. I have two cousins with the same thing and that made me appreciate the story even more than I already did. The only thing that really rubbed me the wrong way was the quote “This is how it always is with GRiffin, like any progress you think you’re making has a tendency to evaporate immediately afterwards. Like no matter how much you think you’re connecting, no matter how hard you try, it doesn’t ever add up to anything. You’re always stuck starting over the next time.” Maybe it was because this was before the big reveal and I had already figured it out. I understand how hard it can be for someone like Griffin to connect with others. Other than that, I really loved this story and I was left hoping there would be more!

Jennifer E. Smith’s story is really what made this collection for me. Without it, I’d probably be tacking another 1 star review to my board.

View all my reviews

