Review: The Crown and the Arrow

The Crown and the Arrow
The Crown and the Arrow by Renee Ahdieh
My rating: 1 of 5 stars

I had been seeing The Wrath and the Dawn all over my feed and then it went on sale so I said “What the heck” and bought it. I don’t remember if I saw this one through that purchase or though looking at the series list on Goodreads but I saw that it was part of TWATD and free so I again said “What the heck” and bought it.

For one thing, this just felt too short to me. Now that I write this review, I think I’ve come to the conclusion that this was just supposed to be one scene from another perspective. I think it will be interesting to see how long the same scene is in TWATD.

Another reason I didn’t enjoy it was I haven’t read into Ahdieh’s world just yet. I haven’t had any introduction to her characters, her world, or her settings. Everything was so new and there wasn’t much world-building, probably because this is meant to be for those who read TWATD before this one. I had no clue who anyone was or what the heck they were even doing and why.

I do think I will try this one again after I get the chance to read The Wrath and The Dawn. I think then I can come back with a better understanding and a happier review.

View all my reviews

