A Trivial Venture by Anna Kringle Review

download

  • Title: A Trivial Venture
  • Author: Anna Kringle
  • Genre: Steampunk, Young Adult
  • Summary: It’s not easy being a pirate. Honestly, do you know how much it takes to plan a solid, profitable bounty hunt in mid air? It’s hard work. Not to mention all the other pirates trying to cut in on one’s profits…

    But Captain Ithaca Vain is determined, and with the help of her motley crew, there should be no trouble at all. Well, except for that one tiny thing… (From Goodreads)

* I have received this book through my blog in exchange for an honest review and this has in no way affected the review.*

Actual rating: 4.5

I really liked this one and it introduced me to a whole new sub-genre that I am definitely more open to reading now. Every time I have seen a steampunk or steampunk related novel, it usually has some assortment of gears and an image on the cover. I’m not one for mechanical things and just have never really been interested in steampunk – until I read this book.

Anna messaged me back in October asking if I’d be willing to review this book and I happily agreed. She had given me a summary and I somewhat knew what to expect but (here’s why I docked off 0.5) I was confused as to what the plot was for most of the book.

I don’t know if I ever really understood what the plot was. I beleive the main plot was about the immigrants and getting them settled, etc. I think it might have just been that I was expecting more “piratey” action. There was one scene that contained action and it wasn’t as… strong as I expected it to be I guess? But – please don’t let that deter you from reading this book. I found it very enjoyable and entertaining and around 80% when (MAJOR SPOILER) it is revealed that Ithaca is actually a duchess on the run and the man looking for her is her father.

I need to know what happens next!!!!

Leave a Reply

