The Heir (The Selection Series #4) by Kiera Cass Review

25489638

  • Title: The Heir (B&N Exclusive Edition)
  • Author: Kiera Cass
  • Publisher: Harper Teen
  • Page Count: 346 pgs.
  • My Goodreads Rating: 5 stars
  • My Actual Rating: 4.75 stars
  • Summary from Goodreads (SPOILERS FOR THE FIRST THREE BOOKS):

Princess Eadlyn has grown up hearing endless stories about how her mother and father met. Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won the heart of Prince Maxon—and they lived happily ever after. Eadlyn has always found their fairy-tale story romantic, but she has no interest in trying to repeat it. If it were up to her, she’d put off marriage for as long as possible.

But a princess’s life is never entirely her own, and Eadlyn can’t escape her very own Selection—no matter how fervently she protests.

Eadlyn doesn’t expect her story to end in romance. But as the competition begins, one entry may just capture Eadlyn’s heart, showing her all the possibilities that lie in front of her… and proving that finding her own happily ever after isn’t as impossible as she’s always thought.

I’m just going to start off by saying this was my least favorite Selection book. Eadlyn is the firstborn child of dream-team Maxamerica (Prince Maxon Schreave and America Singer). They fell in love during a selection and showed that caste does not matter. Now, years later, Maxon and America have become king and queen and dissolved the castes. That’s where Eadlyn’s major problem in this story begins. Her people are rioting and her parents suggest a selection to divert focus. Immediately, Eadlyn panics. She doesn’t want to share her throne or even fall in love with some random guy. She wants to rule by herself and yes, she’s basically selfish. So then after bribing her dad to only have to be the Selection for three months, she makes a plan to ditch them all so she can rule by herself.  She isn’t willing to even try and at her first elimination, she lets go of six boys and then is upset when she is seen as harsh. For most of the book, she will make a decision and then is upset with how it is seen in the public eye. Eadlyn was just annoying as a character. She was self-absorbed and not willing to try. Then as the book goes on, Eadlyn develops feelings for the boys but wants to ignore it and still kick them out. Finally, she decides to kind of let them in and let her feeling take over a teeny tiny bit. Yay, go Eadlyn! Oh wait, never mind… Eadlyn decides to revert back to being somewhat self-absorbed and because she is jealous of the love her twin brother has found, tells him this:

I swallowed, daring to say what I’d been deliberating over for a very long time. “Look, Ahren, she’s a great girl. There’s no denying it. But maybe she’s not the one.”
His smile finally faltered. “What do you mean?”
“Just that you might want to consider other options. There are so many eligible girls in Illea that you’ve completely bypassed. Don’t rush into something that you can’t undo. If you and Camille broke up, it would be nothing. If you got divorced, we could lose our alliance to France.”
Ahren stared at me. “Eadlyn, I know you’re hesitant to fall in love, but I know how I feel about her. Just because you’re scared–”
“I’m not scared!” I insisted. “I’m trying to help you. I love you maybe more than anyone. I’d do nearly anything for you, and I thought you’d do the same for me.”

This leads to him eloping with Camille (his love) to France and getting permission from Queen Daphne (If you have read the prince novella, you will know who this is) to get married. That made me made. Ahren just picks up his stuff and leaves his twin, who he had seemed to love and have that special twin connection with for the girl he loves. And… this causes his mother, America to have a heart attack. The way this book was written, Maxon and America just weren’t who they used to be. America seemed too nice guy and Maxon just wasn’t himself. That I think, is why I didn’t feel as crushed when America had her heart attack. I kind of felt for Maxon, but the way their characters were written I just didn’t feel for them as I did before.

How I feel about the selected boys:

  • Henri – I like him but I wish Eadlyn would make more of an effort to learn Finnish so she could connect with him more.
  • Hale – Eh. Don’t like him all that much.
  • Kile – I’ve been pronouncing this as key-le the whole time. A friend told me it was pronounced just like Kyle. That threw me off but I got over it. Eadlyn never took the time to get to know him and she realizes that later. *claps* I like how he treats her like a true gentleman would but I don’t know if I’d like them together as much as I would Henri or the next non-contestant below.
  • Erik – Yeah, he’s not a contestant but I like the chemistry they have. I think it would be coo if she actually decided to date him because they have such good chemistry and he isn’t someone she is “forced” to try and love. Although, it would probably hurt Henri (Erik a.k.a. Eikko is Henri’s translator).

Love at last word?: Yes, even though I could not stand Eadlyn or the other characters at times, I love the Selection series.

-BookNerd

One thought on “The Heir (The Selection Series #4) by Kiera Cass Review

  1. I actually liked this book the best of all the Selection books. I found Eadlyn to be an independent woman, not selfish. I like her better than America because she seems to know better what she wants. I agree about Erik. I hope she ends up with him.

Leave a Reply

