Aftermath by Tom Lewis Review

download

Aftermath by Tom Lewis

I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Summary from Goodreads: The end of the world came fast. Between the time the warning had sounded on the TV, till when 16-year-old Paige O’Connor awakened sometime later, civilization had been crushed.

The attacks had come by “them” – those things in the ships in the sky that had appeared suddenly, and without warning.

And as Paige would soon discover, the attacks had only been the beginning – those things had plans for the survivors.

Aftermath is the first book in the new After the Fall dystopian action series, which follows a young girl’s struggle for survival in the wake of civilization’s collapse, and humanity’s domination by an alien race of beings.

I did not finish this book and I will explain in this post why I did not.

I don’t like turning people down and I grant basically all of the requests I get to read someone’s book. I especially feel bad when I get one of these and I just can’t get through it. This was one of these times. I had a six hour road trip ahead of me and I figured I’d get some NetGalley and author ARC’s read. I chose to read this one first because it was about 150 pages long. That way I could knock out a lot of books on the trip. So I got to reading this book. I didn’t like the whole teen drinking/disrespect towards adults that happened in the first scene. As I was dealing with the dislike towards those things, BOOM! Birds start falling out of the sky. Okay…. weird. Fast forward through twenty minutes of bike rides and some unimportant to this review dialogue and then people get cannabalistic. Um… ew! Then after that – MORE BIKE RIDING!!!!! As far as I could tell, that was the most action in the book besides the fight with the “Crazies” (the cannibals). After all of that, I decided that I just couldn’t continue. Beleive me, I tried and I felt bad that I couldn’t continue on. I have a lot of books to read and I don’t want to waste time reading something that I am just glancing at words on a page trying to find something to catch my eye and make me want to finish the book.

Love at last word?: Nope. Stopped reading this book and I feel bad that I couldn’t go on but as I stated, I didn’t want to just breeze through the book and know nothing because I didn’t like the book.

-BookNerd

Leave a Reply

