How to Say I Love You Out Loud by Karole Cozzo Review

How_to_Say_I_Love_You_Out_Loud_for_sitejpg

How to Say I Love You Out Loud by Karole Cozzo

I received this book for NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Summary from Goodreads: Words are strong. Love is stronger.

When Jordyn Michaelson’s autistic brother joins her at her elite school, she’s determined not to let anyone know they’re related. Even if that means closing herself off to all her closest friends, including charming football stud Alex Colby. But despite her best intentions, she just can’t shake the memory of kissing Alex last summer, and the desire to do it again.

Can Jordyn find the courage to tell Alex how she really feels—and the truth about her family—before he slips away forever?

I am absolutely apalled at how the main character treated her autistic brother. I myself am related to several people with autism and I would never act the way Jordyn does towards Philip. I stopped reading this book at 19% and read the end because I could not stand how she treated her brother. I would not recommend this book at all and maybe try and steer others away from reading this book, especially my family members that have an autistic relative.

Love at last word?: NO!!!!!!!!! Will not be recommending and will steer others away. This may seem harsh, but as I said I have some autistic relatives.

-BookNerd

3 thoughts on “How to Say I Love You Out Loud by Karole Cozzo Review

  1. I feel like maybe you missed a big part of this story by stopping at 19%. As someone who also has an autistic family member, as well as friends with autistic children, I can say I thought the book was authentic. Teens sometimes say and do awful things, but Jordyn suffers the consequences of her actions and is forced to reevaluate how she feels not only about her brother, but her family, and even herself.

    The reality is, kids can be cruel to one another, and when others pile on top of Phillip, Jordyn begins to see how wrong it is, not only for them, but for her, too. I actually think the book does an amazing job of portraying autistic teens in a very real way. The reality is, not everyone is perfect, but people can change and do the right thing for the right reasons, and not just because they want something.

      • Yeah, I get that. Wouldn’t it be great if everyone always treated others, regardless of who they are, with respect? And I guess that’s why the book resonated with me, because it was good to see someone grow and learn from their mistakes, and see how their actions impacted others. Phillip is autistic, but he could have been a transgendered teen, a boy with bipolar disorder, or cerebral palsy, and the story would have been the same. That people are people and how we treat them matters. It says everything about who we are and nothing about who they are.

Leave a Reply

