The Gossip File by Anna Staniszewski Review

28eac1bec7ca35fea54eb7580c28a94a

The Gossip File (Dirt Diary #3) by Anna Stanisewski

I received this book as an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Summary from Goodreads:

The Gossip File:

-Chandra lets little kids pee in the pool.
-Melody stole $ from the cafe register.
-Ava isn’t who she says she is…

Ava is cool. Ava is confident. Ava is really Rachel Lee who is lying her butt off.
Rachel is visiting her dad at a resort in sunny Florida and is ready for two weeks of relaxing poolside, trips to Disney World and NOT scrubbing toilets. Until her dad’s new girlfriend, Ellie, begs Rachel to help out at her short-staffed cafe. That’s when Rachel kinda sorta adopts a new identity to impress the cool, older girls who work there. Ava is everything Rachel wishes she could be. But when the girls ask “Ava” to help add juicy resort gossip to their file, Rachel’s not sure what to do…especially when one of the entries is a secret about Ellie.

When I requested this book, I was not aware that it was in a series. If I had known, I probably would have read the first book and then stopped the series. Let me explain why – I HATED the main character, Rachel. She said she makes every decision to benefit the people she loves. SHE DOESN’T!!!!! She writes down things she knows could be hurtful is they get out on something that others will see and even leaves it in a somewhat obvious place where her dad’s girlfriend’s son can find it. He does and it dramatically affects her relationship with everyone. She lies about who she is and that makes her dad and her new friends very upset. Rachel decides to try and break her dad and his girlfriend up after she sees ONE NOTE saying how she always tries to be perfect. I about threw my Kindle at the wall because she is so annoying and naive!!!! She knows that she isn’t good at schemes and knows things she’s done before that turned out badly but SHE DOES THEM ANYWAY!!!!!!!!!!!

The plot of the book is that Rachel goes to Florida to visit her dad and his girlfriend. She is unwillingly drafted into helping at the cafe that Ellie, her dad’s girlfriend, runs. There is a book that people write secrets about the resort called the Gossip File. She lies about who she is and does all of the things I mentioned above.

Rating: Two stars. I liked the story a little bit but whenever Rachel did something, I dreaded reading anything that had to do with her. She does not think about what she does, she just does what she thinks.

Loved it or hated it: I do not recommend this book. If you don’t characters who don’t think and just do, this book is probably not something you will enjoy.

-BookNerd

4 thoughts on “The Gossip File by Anna Staniszewski Review

  1. jenna says:

    I find it not true that Anna Stansweski could possibly make a bad book! She is an amazing author and makes it easy for people who don’t like reading (me) to read books like this and enjoy it! I personally love reading her books and in my opinion, though i know this was unintentional, this stuff creates hate mail which of course adds up to tons of chaos and all the author wanted was to make a book for everyone to enjoy! Also calling the characters dumb is not exactly considered “putting you feet in someones shoes” to see how they feel. she is going through life struggles and i know that going through these things are hard. Trust me I could understand her any day. I did not post this in any intention of hate mail or roodness to your blog because i think it is awesome that you like to make summaries on books to help people out with their choices, all I was saying is to use nicer words to the author because she tries hard and I know that going through months to years on a book to please people and then getting someone say these thing’s would not exactyly make me feel to happy. All authors need to know how special they are and let them selves be proud that they did something like making a book weather it is the best book or the worst. whether you think it sucks, or you think that everyone who does not like it is wrong. Once again this is not meant to be hate mail, i think your blog is truly made with good purpose! sincearley- Mua. 😀

    • I try to be as honest as possible in my reviews and as you can tell, I did not like this book. The more honest and critical (negative or positive) I am in my reviews could help someone trying to decide whether or not to read the book. Some readers may not like the choices of the MC and I do my best to explain the book to my readers. I did not mean anything against the author and I do understand that these books may have a positive impact (such as the one you have mentioned towards yourself) towards others. Having that said, I think negative reviews are also a crucial part to helping the author either understand their audience and what they liked or didn’t like. As per your comment, I realized that my word choice was a result of my somewhat angry ranting about this book and have since updated the post. Thank you for your comment!

Leave a Reply

