Not So Clean – A Review (kind of) of More Than This by Jay McLean

images

More Than This by Jay McLean

Summary from Goodreads: When Mikayla imagined her prom night, she envisioned a fairy-tale evening full of romance. So when betrayal and tragedy come in quick succession, Mikayla is completely destroyed. Suddenly, everything she loved and everyone she relied on are tragically, irrevocably gone.

Jake, a handsome boy she just met, happens to witness her loss. With no one to turn to, Mikayla is forced to depend on this near stranger and his family, and he in turn is determined to take care of her. But Mikayla—thrust into adulthood with no one to guide her—is desperate to contain her grief and hide what she considers to be her weakness. Mikayla and Jake both want more, but despite their growing closeness and intense chemistry, she tries to keep her distance and protect her heart. As he does everything in his power to win her trust, Mikayla must choose between remaining alone and safe or letting love in.

First of all, this book was not for me. I thought the book idea sounded great, so I requested it on NetGalley. I accidentally clicked ahead in the book and found myself reading a nine year old girl singing a Justin Bieber song with the lyrics replaced by male genitalia. A nine year old. It may be just me but that is disgusting and the kid should have been disciplined or shouldn’t even know that yet. I then decided to get on Goodreads and see what people thought of the book and as I read through some, I discovered that the nine year old incident was not the end of the somewhat explicit content. If NetGalley had said explicit content, I would have never requested this book. I might try and read this book later on but right now, I’m still trying to figure out whether I want to do that.

Stars: None

Loved it or hated it: Hated it. Don’t read if you are like me and don’t like reading explicit content. Definitely not a kids book.

-Love BookNerd

Leave a Reply

