We Were Liars by E. Lockhart Book Review

images (1)

  • Title: We Were Liars
  • Author: E. Lockhart
  • Publisher: Delacorte Press
  • Page Count: 225 pgs.
  • My Goodreads Rating: One star
  • My Actual Rating: None
  • Summary from Goodreads:

A beautiful and distinguished family.

A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart.

Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

First of all, let me say that I did NOT finish this book. I was interested in this book when I saw a chapter sampler at Barnes and Noble (note: I never got a chance to read it). I never thought about it until my librarian mentioned it and said it was really good. I checked it out a few days later. I liked it when I started it. Then I got to the part when Cadence, the main character, describes her father leaving  her and her mother as her heart flying out of her chest and flopping in the flower beds (not a major spoiler b/c it happens within the first three or so pages). Woah. That threw me off and led me to overly adjective filled paragraphs at times. More weird descriptions followed. I honestly was willing to try with this book. I really was. I may have held my expectations to high though. With all the awards, five star reviews, and friends raving about the book I had expected to read this book fast and LOVE it. Alas, that was not the case. I’d ultimately give this book two stars because it held my interest at some points but mostly not in others.

Love at last word?: No. Read it if you’ve got time and love YA mystery books. Don’t read if those don’t apply to you. I think you should research the book to determine if it’s right for you. The blurb doesn’t give you much to go on, so try some non-spoilerly Goodreads reviews first.

-BookNerd

Leave a Reply

